Week 13

Total weight gain: 5.5

Food of the week (a.k.a. size of baby)
: Shrimp (mmmmm, Omega 3s…..)

Pregnancy signs (mostly TMI): PIMPLES IN MY EARS, PEOPLE! I also had an insane craving for Mexican food the other night. It felt like an intense, electric current running through my brain, shouting “BURRITOOOOOOOO.”

Worry of the week: Swine flu shot (received Tuesday) causing harm or miscarriage

Maternity clothes:
Pretty much none of my pants button anymore. Rocking the rubberband look.

Work: Went around on Monday holding the ultrasound pic we got at the nuchal translucency test and said, “I have some news!”

Best pregnancy gift this week: My mom slipped an envelope to me during my SIL’s birthday dinner. Inside was the sweetest card and a $50 Target gift card for “maternity clothes or whatever.” I cried on the way home because it was just so damn touching. I really do love sharing this with her.

Best pregnancy moment this week:
The nuchal translucency test was rad, although I learned I’m not that great at holding in a full bladder, especially when the freeway is closed because some asshole dropped paint all over the road and traffic is stalled. But the hospital was fast-moving as soon as we arrived, and within five minutes, I was propped on a table with goo all over my stomach.

The baby was in perfect position for the test (already an overachiever?) and the tech was able to take measurements of the translucent fold on the back of the baby’s neck (technology is rad). He also took images of baby’s feet, arms, bladder, and brain. I love seeing my baby, especially when he/she is squirmy because I still can’t feel it.

Based on the measurements, my risk for Down’s is 1/6,000 and Trisomy 18 is 1/55,000. Pretty low. The hospital now compares those findings with blood tests at 12 weeks and another at 16 weeks to give us a final risk assessment.

Another awesome moment was between Charles and I. We spent about an hour one night this week making homemade ziti and listening to jazz. When we sat down to eat, Charles commented that he couldn’t wait until a baby could be part of that routine. Then we both got pretty emotional imagining it. At one point, Charles hugged my belly and said to the baby, “I’m going to be so good for you.” I love that man.

Weekly sins: Not drinking enough water. A fellow pregnant friend told me her doc recommended she drink 96 ounces a day. That’s insane for someone who barely drank water before getting pregnant. I’m also not working out as much, maybe two times a week. Definitely does not counteract all the food I eat.

What I am looking forward to: I think I’m going to do the Pregtastic podcast next weekend. Both Jules and Ash were guests when they were pregnant, and it seems like an awesome community of which to be a part. I’ve been devouring the archived podcasts over the last several weeks.

Milestones: Your fetus is forming teeth and vocal cords. Baby is approaching normal proportions, with his head now only one third the size of his body. And intestines are in the process of moving from the umbilical cord to baby’s tummy. Fingerprints have formed on your baby’s tiny fingertips, her veins and organs are clearly visible through her still-thin skin. If you’re having a girl, she now has more than 2 million eggs in her ovaries. Your baby is almost 3 inches long (the size of a medium shrimp) and weighs nearly an ounce.

Quotes of the Week:
— “This baby is performing for me!” Omar, the hospital tech, on Baby’s stellar NT scan position
–“Jessica, your body is a temple.” Coworker Debbie, exasperated that I was enjoying a blue Tootsie Roll lollipop

This entry was posted in Mama, pregnancy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

