Week 15

Total weight gain: 9 pounds. Keep in mind this is the day after NOMsgiving.

Percentage through pregnancy: 37.5%

Weeks until due date: 25

Food of the week (a.k.a. size of baby): Apple.

Pregnancy signs: Round ligament pain = OW. Still a bit nauseous, but no so much. Acne seems to be getting better. My gray hair is getting more noticeable. Luckily, my hair cut covers the main patch – for now. Also, I’m feeling super itchy everywhere. It’s kind of annoying.

Did I feel the baby? At work on Tuesday, I stood up from my chair because I could have sworn I was sitting on my cell phone. I didn’t think much of it when I discovered my cell phone still in my purse, but the vibration in my lower abdomen happened two other times that evening. I did a bit of Googling and found out that other pregnant women have experienced the same sensation, and doctors think it may be the vibrations from the baby stretching his/her muscles. I haven’t felt it since. Plan to ask my midwife at the next appt.

Worry of the week: Same as last week. I wish I could see the baby every day to make sure he/she is fine. I can’t wait until I can noticeably feel him/her.

Maternity clothes: I busted a hole in the size of the maternity jeans that a friend gave me. Hope that’s not a sign of things to come.

Weekly sins: Two pieces of sugarless gum and a few sips of Diet Soda. (OK, I recognize that I am being really crazy and that both of these things are not considered dangerous by anyone with any kind of OB training. Maybe I just want to see if I can survive without my diet sodie.)

Pregnancy moments of the week:

Pregtastic was really fun. Like every pregnant woman, all I want to do is talk about pregnancy, birth, and babies. That gets old to other people fast. It was a blast to sit in a recording studio with women going through the same thing. I felt extremely “young” because all the other moms are much, much further along. They all looked at me wistfully when I said I was only 14 weeks. The podcast episode (on PreNatal Testing) is here.

— I also had an OMGTHEREISABABYGROWINGINSIDEOFME moment this week. Pregnancy is simultaneously amazing and alien. Especially at this point when I can’t feel the baby, and yet I know there is something in there. For a second there, it just seemed like the most unnatural thing ever. I mean, this baby did not exist 15 weeks ago, and in an instant – BAM! – there is a new life growing inside you. /boggles

— I burst into tears in the car listening to an NPR story about the new Disney princess. It wasn’t a particularly emotional story, but the thought of all these black mothers taking their daughters to see the movie, finally being able to see a character that looks more like them in a freaking Disney movie…..it was just too much for my emo hormones.

Best pregnancy gifts of the week:
This category goes to my mother. On NOMsgiving Eve, when I was at her house helping her cook, she showed me a stash of baby gifts that she’d already bought. One of them was a stuffed version of Noah’s Ark (my mother is going to force Catholicism on this baby if it’s the LAST thing she does). Cute zoo animals stick out of the sides of the boat, and they make animal noises if you squeeze their feet.

The second was this huge stuffed dolphin with what appears to be a belt across its stomach.

Me: Um, what’s that?
Mom: It’s a belt, so the baby can put his pajamas in it, and they don’t have to go on the floor.
Me: Um….what?
Mom: No, feel it! It’s soft!
Me: ????

Charles: This is what it’s like having BALLS, Jessica! (In reference to my itching complaints)

What I am looking forward to: 16-week appointment next Friday

Milestones: Your growing baby now measures about 4 inches long, crown to rump, and weighs in at about 2 1/2 ounces. She’s busy moving amniotic fluid through her nose and upper respiratory tract, which helps the primitive air sacs in her lungs begin to develop. Her legs are growing longer than her arms now, and she can move all of her joints and limbs. Although her eyelids are still fused shut, she can sense light. If you shine a flashlight at your tummy, for instance, she’s likely to move away from the beam. There’s not much for your baby to taste at this point, but she is forming taste buds.

Quotes of the Week:

– Me: I’m really interested in this renowned pediatrician from UCLA named Harvey Karp and his child development strategies.
Mom: See, you have Dr. Karp. In my day, we had Dr. Seuss.
Me: Um…don’t you mean Dr. Spock?

– Coworker Dyanne: How far along are you?
Me: I’ll be 15 weeks on Thanksgiving.
Dyanne: OK, good. Every year at Thanksgiving we say what we’re thankful for, and I want to make sure I say I’m thankful for your baby.

– Charles (incredibly heartfelt, at Thankgiving, surrounded by 10 family members and friends): …and I’m thankful that Jessica is the one who is bearing my child….
Brother Dan (interrupting): Hahaha! He just called you cattle.

Pregnancy-related Tweets:
— Ready to enjoy Thanksgiving as an insatiable pregnant woman.
— My fav part of the pregnancy yoga dvd is the part where you get to lay down for five minutes and take a nap.

This entry was posted in family, holidays, pregnancy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

