Forgetting We Have A Child

I knew there was something odd when I read the first line of an e-mail from Husband Charles to some of our friends:

There’s been some discussion of seeing Inception as a group.

Hmm. Where is this going?

How’s this weekend for everyone?

What about the baby?

Jess and I are booked Saturday evening, but other times would be fine.

Either he thinks we can take Charlie to the movies (which I doubt), or he forgot we have a baby.

Perhaps Sunday afternoon with the possible inclusion of lunch?

OMG. HE TOTALLY FORGOT WE HAVE A BABY.

We had an amusing discussion about this later that evening (yes, he forgot about the baby). Charles recalled that a friend even responded saying she needed a babysitter, and the baby still didn’t cross his mind.

This seems really foreign to me because there’s rarely a second that I’m not thinking about Charlie. How could Charles forget about him? How is Charlie not on his mind constantly? Then again, I could also feel this way because I’m the mom and he’s biologically ingrained in my consciousness, and I’m with him 24/7 (for now… stupid U.S. and their suckage of maternity leave).

Still, I understand how it could happen. We’ve been making plans like this for the past decade, and old habits can be hard to break. It was an honest omission, and Charles was truly astounded that he forgot about Charlie (*puts money away for Charlie’s therapy bills once he reads this*).

That being said, if it happens again I’m marching Charles to the tattoo parlor so that he and my mama can have matching tattoos.

This entry was posted in Charlie, Husband, parenthood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Forgetting We Have A Child

  1. ChazTheFather says:

    For what it’s worth, I was appropriately chagrined. 🙂

  2. Stacy says:

    Actually, this happens to a lot of people, new moms and new dads. It’s because of the lack of sleep combined with the shift in identity and being on baby auto pilot all the time. LOL, funny story though.

  3. Ash says:

    This is fantastically human.

Leave a Reply

