Date Night

It was a red-letter day: I took a shower, shaved my legs, and put on perfume. Oh yeah, it was Date Night.

Last Friday, Charles and I left a fussing Charlie with my mama and ventured out for our first night on the town, sans baby.

It was freaking amazing.

We decided on a romantic dinner at Island Prime at the tip of Harbor Island, overlooking downtown San Diego and the Bay. There were vague plans to catch a movie afterward, but we spent way too much time chatting over dinner.

I came away from the night knowing  I would absolutely fall in love with Charles if I met him today, instead of a decade ago. God damn, he’s sexy! Over four hours and three alcoholic beverages each, we talked about everything: Charlie (of course), our marriage, politics, work, family, whether or not he saw me poop during labor (yes), our personal and professional goals, etc.

I felt like Jess, the individual, instead of just Jess, the exhausted mom. It was refreshing. And it was reassuring to know the core of our marriage is still so strong. Charlie adds another rich and complex layer.

I’m also proud of myself for getting so dolled up. The lazy-ass part of me debated whether or not to even take a shower, or put product in my hair, or find my mascara. Did it really matter? I’d just have to take it all off when I got home. Grumble, grumble.

But I decided to make our relationship a priority, to prepare for this date the same way I would when we first got together. To show that I have respect for myself and for our marriage. As we left the house, I felt pretty for the first time in seven weeks, and it made me excited about the night ahead.

It was really a great night, a nice escape from our routine, but this date was made even sweeter because we got to come home to our cuddly baby boy.

This entry was posted in Charlie, Husband, marriage and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Date Night

  1. Lisa says:

    You have no idea how much joy and relief this kind of post gives me. I’m so glad there are relationships like this out there. I need to believe right now.

    Cheers to you.

  2. Anna says:

    And as always… you just made me tear up. So glad you were able to have a wonderful evening with your hubby.

Leave a Reply

