Back to Work

The day was better than expected, meaning I didn’t spent the entire time huddled under my desk in the fetal position, crying my eyes out. Those were only the first two hours.

The hardest moment came as I said goodbye before Charles drove him to my mama’s (his mom is on vacation this week). I closed the car door as Charlie gazed at me from inside, so sweet and chubby and perfect. How could I give this precious baby to someone else for EIGHT WHOLE HOURS? I went back into the house, sat on my bed, and bawled.

But then I forced myself to get ready. I turned on The Today Show, cringed as Matt Lauer explained “sexting” and “sextortion,” slipped on my red patent leather heels (as promised), and hit the road.

The day went quickly; 6,500 e-mail will do that. That’s not an exaggeration. My coworkers were welcoming, and luckily no one asked how I was feeling about being back. Pumping was…odd. I felt lost most of the day, like I was missing a limb. My mother sent text messages and pictures of Charlie, and we talked every few hours about his every coo.

I was home before my mama dropped him off and just paced by the garage, waiting. When she pulled up, I flung open the back door and burst into tears as soon as I saw him. He’d been sleeping, but opened his eyes at the sound of my voice and stared at me with bright eyes.

I’ve never missed anyone so much.

This entry was posted in Charlie, work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

