Letters to Charlie: Month 7

My dearest boy,

What a month! One of the most amazing parts about being your mother is watching just how fast you grow. And things around here are moving at light-speed, it seems.

As I write this, you’re on your stomach scooting all over the nursery. I’ll look down for 10 seconds and BOOM! you’re halfway across the floor. Pretty soon, we’ll have to buy edge softeners for our furniture and make sure we actually close the baby gate (Baron The Cat gives us the evil eye when it’s closed; You actually expect me to jump over this?).

You’re sitting now. With no support. Actually, that’s not entirely true. Occasionally, you’ll topple, usually when we’ve turned away for a millisecond. Then you cry, which breaks my heart, but you’re learning to control your fall better so that doesn’t happen.

Today you weighed in at 20 pounds, 6 ounces. Uf!

This month (actually, this week), your first tooth broke free! Dad discovered this the hard way when you chomped on his finger. It’s the bottom right tooth and the cutest thing ever. The other bottom tooth is peeking out, too. Our friends Kushal and Emma were visiting during the discovery and helped heap congratulations onto you.

Another new development: stomach sleeping. Since you’ve been able to roll over, you seem to prefer conking out this way. This is scary for me; I worry about your breathing even though I know you’re able to move around. But I have to admit, your little tushy looks so precious at night.

Speaking of sleeping, there was one night this month that you slept 12 hours straight. Way to go, Charlie! We’re gradually trying to push your bedtime later, averaging now about 6:30, back a half hour. You still get up anywhere from 3-5 a.m. for a bottle, and about half the time snooze for a bit longer. One night we tortured you by keeping you up until 7 p.m. You were so spent that you drooped your heavy head onto the bouncer-seat and looked at us with pleading eyes that said, “Pleeeeease let me go to sleep.”

When you’re awake, I can’t believe how inquisitive you are. You live in constant velocity, my son, happiest when you’re outside or in a group of people where things are going on. You have to touch everything. And you’re never satisfied with sitting still. This means I have to sneak in cuddles where I can. You’re so cuddleable! Occasionally you’ll rest your head on my shoulder, but only when you’re really tired. I love those moments.

This month, we celebrated our first Christmas with you. I’m going to dedicate a separate post to this. In summary, Santa brought you a LOT of loot and you are amazingly loved by many people.

Overall this month, I’ve just felt happy, Charlie. Like, really, really happy. We’ve laughed so much this month, and for the first time, I feel like you know who I am. I’ve had moments where my heart fills to bursting, and I just can’t believe how incredibly lucky I am that you are here, that you are mine. I spend way too much anxious time dwelling on sad stuff, so these moments of sheer bliss are so freeing. Thank you for being in my life.

I know your father feels the same way. He shared a story the other day about a sweet morning you two had, giggling and playing on the nursery floor. At one point, you toppled over and he caught you. “I had a moment,” your Dad said. “Because he doesn’t know that I’ll catch him…

“But I will,” he said, with tears in his eyes. “I’ll always be there.”

This entry was posted in Charlie, development, Letters to Charlie, parenthood, sleep and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Letters to Charlie: Month 7

  1. Anna says:

    I love the pic of Charlie and Charles – that’s one for the memory book.

Leave a Reply

