Dad Blogs: Mom-less

On the one hand, it’s not so big a deal that I didn’t kill Charlie over the course of four days. A dad should probably be able to accomplish that. On the other, I was worried about this weekend. With Mama away, celebrating her 30th year on the planet, I girded my psyche (and sleep schedule) for battle.

A brief aside: The terms “Father-Son Bonding” and “Quality Time” have always rung false to me. Of course we need such terms, but those seem cutesy and invented. The people and contexts I associate them with are very “Dr. Phil.”

Frankly, I just wanted to get through a mom-less four days with no major meltdowns.  Catastrophe-free was my mantra, What Would Mom Do? my guiding principle. And I’m prepared to say it was a success. I made 3 meals a day and convinced him to eat. I changed all the diapers and picked all the outfits. I got up with him every morning and put him to bed each night. Go me!  Self Reliance +2, Acceptable Human +1, Save v. Child-Rearing +1.

That said, life was a lot different. Possibly as different as the change pre- to post-baby. I definitely wouldn’t want to have to do that forever, and I’m incredibly grateful I have Jessica in my life to help shoulder the burden.

So I needn’t have worried. But then, maybe the only reason not to worry was that fact that I was worrying. In other words, if I were someone who wasn’t worried I would probably have done a bad job (both that weekend, and in general). I wasn’t trying to engineer a great time, but we ended up having one anyway. Bike rides, the beach, the U.S. Open Sandcastle competition, for goodness sake. I guess if the time we had was “Quality” and if our father-son bond was strengthened, so much the better.

Save v. Ed Hardy-Wearing Teen +2.

This entry was posted in Charlie, dad blogs, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dad Blogs: Mom-less

  1. Barbara and Charles III says:

    All I’ll say is that when Charlie is at Grandma and Grandpa’s, he walks to the gate near the front door and looks hopefully out now and then, and says, “Dada?” He’s not sad, not at all, but he knows what that front door can bring. (Jessica, not to worry: he is riveted by any book using the word “Mama.”)

Leave a Reply

