Conversations with Grandma Z

Freud would think our idea was cool.

GZ: What’s Charlie going to be for Halloween?

Me: Well, Charles and I thought about dressing up as id, ego and superego.

GZ: What?

Me: Yeah, you know, because Charlie is all emotion right now. He’d be id. I’d be ego and Charles would be superego.

GZ: Jea, Charlie doesn’t want to be an “id” for Halloween. He wants to be a lion or a bear or a cute pumpkin.

Me: I don’t think he necessarily wants to be anything….

GZ: What am I supposed to tell people? “What’s Charlie for Halloween?” “Oh, you know, he’s an id.” No. People are going to look at me like I’m crazy!

Me: Oh come on! It’s clever and funny.

GZ: No, Jea. It’s Just. Stupid.

––

I don’t think my mother has ever been more exasperated by me. 😉

This entry was posted in Charlie, family, holidays, Mama and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Conversations with Grandma Z

  1. Lea says:

    Well, you know, it’s really obscure and not many people have heard of it, soooo… Really, he’d be going as a little hipster. : )

  2. MOM says:

    D R A G O N 🙂

  3. Sarah says:

    Id. Hilarious! We love it – you totally have to do this!

  4. Pingback: Id, Ego & Super-ego | Hour 23

Leave a Reply

