Losing It: My Laugh Attack

My mother isn’t what you’d call a technogeek. For example, a few years ago during a troubleshoot call, I asked her to tell me what was on her desktop. “Dust,” she said.

To be fair, she doesn’t give herself enough credit, and she’s come a long way in a few years. I think this is why the following situation cracked me up so much.

Charles and I bought her an iPhone for Christmas. She’s slooooowly mastering it. My mama still refuses to admit that punctuation should also exist in texts, and some of the message I receive from Siri are unintentionally hilarious.

Case in point.

She borrowed my beads for her school’s Mardi Gras celebration this year. So, she decided to send me a picture, attempting to use her new iPhone camera and a bathroom mirror.

Oh, Mom.

As you can see, the concept of holding the phone at angle to capture the reflection in the mirror was completely lost on her. So was the realization that she could turn the camera to face her (a feature she’d used before).

I opened up the image while brushing my teeth and just lost it. Charles heard the giggle attack starting and raced downstairs to capture it on video, knowing nothing about what set me off.

Below is my attempt to explain the picture to him (or watch it here).

This entry was posted in family, Husband, Mama, pop culture, videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Losing It: My Laugh Attack

  1. Sarah says:

    Thanks for making me laugh! Moms can be so funny sometimes. It makes me wonder what our kids are going to laugh at us about.

  2. Pingback: The Friday 5: Award edition! « Flowtation Devices

Leave a Reply

