Charlie’s Construction Birthday

Image

His favorite book is about dump trucks. He loves watching “Mighty Machines.” He’d sleep with his toy garbage truck if it weren’t so plastic and bulky. So, it was a no brainer that we decided to throw a construction-themed second birthday party for Charlie.

I am one of the least crafty/creative people you’ll ever meet, but I am clever enough to take advantage of The Internets. I began searching for similar party themes and plopped all of my favorite ideas in a Pinterest board for easy reference. Then I put in my own personal twist.

For his party, Charles and I decided to test fate and plan it once again for a park (we were rained out last year). It was cold and overcast when the party began, but I’m happy to report that no rain fell!

Decoration Highlights:

1. Caution Tape from Lowes, which I wrapped around the party table and along the trees bordering the area we staked out for the party.

Image

2. Construction Pals plates and napkins from Birthday Express. Orange cups and forks were from Party City.

Image

3. Goodie “Lunch” Bags for the kids, filled with plastic construction trucksstickers, and candy corn (to look like traffic cones). I also sprinkled the candy on the table.

4. Book of Honor:  “Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site”. Could we really have a construction party without it?

Image

5. Coloring Pages of construction vehicles (Googled).

Image

6.“Wrecking Balls” – a.k.a. oranges. Made the road signs out of images I found online and pasted onto adhesive cardboard (Thanks for helping me, Tina!). The “poles” are coffee mixing sticks.

Image

7. The Cake: From the same bakery that made Charlie’s cake last year. They were going to charge me an extra $65 to make a fondant dump truck, so I just asked them to add an orange trim. When I picked up the cake, I plopped on two of the plastic trucks I bought for the goodie bags. I added Raisinets for the “rocks,” candy corn for traffic cones and two of the freeway signs I made.

It looked freakin’ AWESOME.

Image

Image

Image

Charlie received an amazing assortment of truck/train-themed gifts (although we attempted to make him open all of the presents before diving into one or the other. Not quite successful).

Image

Charles and I bought him a push bike.

Image

Image

He got to play at the park.

Image

And, of course, ‘Nana’ was there.

Image

Image

Overall, the party was lovely – a wonderful, laid-back time with family and friends. Charlie’s a lucky dude; a lot of people care about him.

Image

Image

And I think he had a pretty fantastic time. 🙂

Image

This entry was posted in birthday, Charlie, family, toys and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Charlie’s Construction Birthday

  1. Barbara and Charles III says:

    Best party ever. Until next year!

  2. Jodie says:

    Love it!

  3. Lisa says:

    GREAT JOB, Mom!!!!!!

  4. Lori says:

    So, so cute! Love all the adorable decorations, and it looks like everyone had a great time! Happy birthday to your little guy!

  5. Pingback: Letters to Charlie: On Being Three | Hour 23

Leave a Reply

