Check Me Out: My Cheap, Homemade Jewelry Box from Cutlery Trays

I am not a crafty person.

I’m so much NOT a crafty person that I still make my mother fix buttons that have popped off my clothing (thanks Mom).

Still, I’d been struggling to find a solution for my expanding collection of accessories. And most large jewelry boxes on sale are gaudy and never solve the problem of the “long necklace,” of which I have many.

Enter Pinterest and this post I discovered featuring a jewelry box made from cutlery trays. It solved my problem, looked good, and seemed easy enough for me to do. Plus, it cost less than $50.

I have more long necklaces than she does, and lots of wall space to fill, so I decided to flip the concept horizontally.

Materials:

1. Bamboo cutlery trays from Bed Bath & Beyond, which I painted with high-gloss, white enamel paint. Took a few coats to cover all the brown.

2. White cup cooks and hanging strips. I used a drill to make pilot holes for the cup hooks, then screwed them in the rest of the way. I used the hooks for necklaces and hanging strips for earrings.

IMG_6306 IMG_6304

Then I hammered it into the wall. And that’s it.

No really!

Homemade Jewelry Box

Homemade Jewelry Box

Homemade Jewelry Box

Homemade Jewelry Box

It’s so easy to find jewelry now, and it adds an artistic, colorful element to my bedroom.

Go me!

This entry was posted in Charlie and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Check Me Out: My Cheap, Homemade Jewelry Box from Cutlery Trays

  1. Jill says:

    Awesome!!! Just the solution that I need for my overflowing jewellery stand!!

  2. amishaink says:

    You are so creative Jessica! Dint know this side of you 🙂

Leave a Reply

